• Cell/WA:+62 (0)858 4711 9373
  • info@rajaampatpapua.com

Category ArchiveHow to Get to Raja Ampat Islands

How To Get To Raja Ampat – West Papua – Indonesia

The Raja Ampat area of Northwest Papua (the second largest island in the world) is filled with islands, surrounded by reefs and inundated with fish!

Most of the areas reefs are pristine, with mile after mile of perfect hard corals, drift after drift of Dendronephya (soft) corals of many species and colors ranging from brilliant red, to shocking yellow pretty pink and exotic purple. Most reef dives are very colorful.

It is easiest to fly through to Sorong via Jakarta or via Singapore. Merpati, Express Air and Lion Wings operate daily flights from Jakarta to Sorong (with stopovers in Ujung Pandang/Makassar and/or Manado), whereas Silk Air operates regularly from Singapore to Manado. Regular flights to and from Sorong by Airlines Merpati and Lion Wings. Check directly with Papua Diving for current schedule or click on flightschedule for latest flight information.

Merpati Airlines
Lion Air
Express Air
Batavia Air
Silk Air

We can help you to book and issue the tickets, just contact us!

Surat jalan (=travel permit)
To enter Papua itself, you need a surat jalan which is issued by the local police. Please bring:

* 3 Passport Photos
* 3 Copies of the photo page of your passport
* 3 Copies of the passport page with the Indonesian Visa

With these photos and copies we will arrange the surat jalan for you at your arrival. This procedure will not take any of your time and is done as a part of our service.

Airport taxes apply, the departure tax at Jakarta is Rp. 100.000 (=at 30-01-2004 +/-US$ 12) for international departures and for domestic flights taxes apply also. From Sorong, the airport tax is Rp. 11.000 (US$ 1.2). All these taxes need to be paid in cash Rupiah, so make sure you have some.

New VISA Requirements
Starting on 1 February 2004, Indonesia brought in new regulations regarding which nationalities have to apply for visas before coming here, and who can get visas upon arrival – for 11 nationalities these are issued at no charge, for 21 other nationalities you pay for the visa on arrival this is based on immigration requirements for Indonesians entering those countries

The following 11 countries/territories receive a 30day no-charge visa upon arrival: Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Brunei, Philippines, Hong Kong, Macau, Chile, Peru and Morocco.

Citizens of the following 21 countries are now required to pay for a visa upon arrival – USD10 for a 3day visa, or USD25 for a 30day visa: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, the USA, the UAE and the UK.

As before, your passport must be valid for at least 6mths after your stay in Indonesia. You still have to show an onward ticket out of the country.
Methods of payment: USD cash (as with all the USDs you bring to Indonesia, these need to be in pristine condition and produced in 2001 or later), Mastercard and Visa.

Nationalities not on either of the above lists or people who want to stay in Indonesia for longer than 30days, must get a visa from an overseas Indonesian Embassy or Consulate before arriving here. These cannot be issued upon arrival.

We advise you check with your local Indonesian embassy about the applicable procedures and going rates well in advance of your departure date, because the application procedure takes 5 working days. Please note that the above are non-extendable. There are a limited number of ?gateways?, these being airports and ports where you may enter from overseas.

Please note that the above is only our understanding of the situation as it stands at present. If you are in any doubt whatsoever, please contact your nearest Indonesian Embassy or Consulate.